The Guilt Monster

Standard

thCAQ9YW38

I have a boogey man that plagues my life…

my own personal demon…

my “monster under the bed.”

I call this monster “Guilt” and it is the bane of my existence.

It shows up at the most inopportune times,

usually when I am already weakened by other demons:

Fear, Sadness, Regret, Dread, and Fatigue.

Fatigue is a big one.

Guilt is a monster that preys on women,

(especially moms)

 this time of year.

It hides in the darkness and whispers lies:

“It will never be enough.”

“You could always do better.”

“You need to please everyone. Don’t disappoint.”

“Love says “yes”…never “no.”

Add to the whispers of your own imagining, the mutterings of those around you..

the people who pile on the guilt as a means of manipulating,

as a means of controlling…

and it can be enough to sink an already unstable ship.

This time a year can be hard. As women we take on the burden of making magic happen in the lives of all those around us, and with each brick of guilt piled on an already unstable vessel we can find ourselves taking on water,

sinking quickly,

and then feeling more guilt that we can’t stay afloat.

I am weary. I am tired of the guilt…

The guilt I pile on myself and the guilt that is piled on by others.

I am tired and ready to let it go.

I am taking matters into my own hands and slaying the monster that lurks under the bed.

Let us band together as women and quit the “guilt game.”

Life is short.

It is ok to say “no.”

It is ok to fall short.

It is ok to be adequate.

It is ok to let go of the guilt.

I give you permission to do

as Nancy Reagan would say and

“Just say no!”

 Let it go.

🙂

You are welcome.

Leave a Reply

